Prof Uwe Pühse

Prof Uwe Pühse 

Uwe Pühse has numerous involvements in international organizations and projects related to the work of UNESCO: He was a participant and contributor to the UNESCO Kazan Conference 2017 and member of the project group 2, ‘Maximizing the contributions of sport to sustainable development and peace’ (Kazan Action Plan). He was also involved in MINEPS V (UNESCO World Sport Minister Conference 2013 in Berlin, World Summit (Berlin Declaration). In AIESEP (International Association for Physical Education in Higher Education) he serves as a member of the board of directors and of the Executive Committee, and he is the treasurer of AIESEP since 2006. In the International Council of Sport Pedagogy (ICSP), an institution which links five international organizations with a common interest in physical education, he is the official representative of AIESEP. In FIEP (Fédération Internationale d´Education Physique) he acts as national delegate of Switzerland, he is a member of the ICSSPE Development Committee (International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education) and in CEREPS (Conseil Européen des Recherches en Education Physique et Sportive), a European expert group for physical education and sport, he serves as the Swiss and AIESEP representative.

Together with colleagues from Belgium (Prof. Marc Cloes, Université de Liège), France (Prof. Claire Boursier, Université Paris Ouest Nanterre) and Switzerland (Dr. Marianne Meier, Terre Des Hommes International Federation, Geneva) he is part of the Madagascar Project ‘Education in challenging context: ‘Quality Physical Education: UNESCO’s matrix as a tool to assess the situation in Madagascar’. Furthermore he was a member of the WADA-project group ‘’Values-based education through sport and Physical Education’ (project leader Prof. Attilio Carraro, University of Padua, Italy. He is the Swiss PI of the DASH study (Disease, Activity and Schoolchildren’s Health) and the following KaziBantu-Project (Healthy Schools for Healthy Communities) in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.


His political and scientific exchange takes place with the following organizations: EUPEA (European Physical Education Teacher Association), Dr. Claude Scheuer, Luxemburg; TAFISA (International Sport For All Association), Secretary General Wolfgang Baumann, Frankfurt; IFAPA (International Federation of Adapted Physical Activity), Dr. Maria Dinold, University of Vienna; IAPESGW (International Association of Physical Education and Sport for Girls and Women) Prof. Rosa Lopez de d’Amico, Venezuela, Prof. Rosa Diketmüller, University of Vienna.

In addition he maintains academic collaborations and exchange on a regular basis with the following colleagues: South Africa: Prof. Cheryl Walter, Prof. Rosa du Randt, University of Port Elizabeth, Prof. Hanlie Moss, North West University, Potchefstroom, Prof. Marion Keim, University of the Western Cape, Cape Town; Indonesia: Fitria Dwi Andriyani, University of Jogyakarta; USA: Prof. Thomas Templin, School of Kinesiology, University of Michigan State, Prof. Thomas McKenzie, School of Exercise & Nutritional Sciences, San Diego State University; Hong Kong: Prof. Amy Sau-Chin Ha, The Chinese University of Hong Kong; New Zealand: Prof. Ben Dyson, University of Auckland; Australia: Prof. Doune Macdonald, pro vice chancellor, University of Queensland, Brisbane; Japan: Prof. Yoshinori Okade, Nippon Sport Science University, Tokyo; Macau: Prof. Walter King Yan Ho, University of Macau; Finland: Prof. Pilvikki Heikinaro-Johanson, University of Jyväskylä; Ireland: Prof. Mary O’Sullivan, University of Limmerick, Prof. Fiona Chambers, University of Cork; Belgium: Prof. Marc Cloes, University of Liège; Turkey: Prof. Giyasettin Demirhan, Hacettepe University, Ankara, Prof. Fatma Sacli Uzunöz, Nevşehir Hacı Bektaş Veli University; Slovakia: Prof. Branislav Antala, Comenius University of Bratislava; Lithuania: Prof. Arūnas Emeljanovas, Lithuanian Sports University, Kaunas; Portugal: Prof. Marcos Onofre, University of Lisbon; Luxemburg: Dr. Claude Scheuer, University of Luxemburg; Austria: Prof. Rosa Diketmüller, University of Vienna; Germany: Prof. Wolf Brettschneider, University of Paderborn, Prof. Erin Gerlach, University of Potsdam, Prof. Hans-Peter Brandl-Bredenbeck, University of Augsburg.